Unpopular Opinion: Stop Worrying About Traveling to Mexico

The first time I traveled to Cancun I was 23-years-old. I took a flight from Boston to Chicago, and Chicago to Cancun on my own. I went through customs and found my way to the van that was waiting to bring me to my hotel. I met up with a group of 20 people whom I had never met or even knew existed up until that point. I spent five weeks wandering Cancun, drinking the alcohol, and meeting new people.

I have been back to Mexico three times since that original trip. I have spent a grand total of 11 weeks within a one year period in that beautiful country, drinking alcohol from at least ten different resorts and countless nightclubs between Cancun, Cabo, and Puerto Vallarta. The same places that the media has been unfairly painting in such a bad light.

The popularity of these articles may have died down, they may be shared less frequently now, but the impression they left behind is still there. The media has scared the general population into believing that Mexico isn’t safe, and that they shouldn’t go there.

I don’t want to go to Cancun, it’s not safe.” “My mom doesn’t want me to go to Mexico.

Look around, the world isn’t safe anymore. We live in a time where people shoot churchgoers or innocent children at schools, cops shoot people down at traffic stops, bombs go off in crowded places, and vans intentionally run through crowds.  

There were a total of seven people shot and two stabbed in the city of Boston alone in the month of September in (to my knowledge) unrelated incidents, according to Universal Hub.

My intention is not to scare anyone deeper into their caves. My point is everything you do, everywhere you go, is going to have some sort of risk associated with it. Be wary of your surroundings, but don’t hide from life just because you heard rumors on the Internet.

Almost every article you see on Facebook has some type of clickbait linked with it. Do your research next time. Look at the actual travel warnings that tell you not to go near the borders of the state of Jalisco, 150 miles away from Puerto Vallarta, and that the crime rate in the states of Quintana Roo and Baja California Sur have gone up because of increased “targeted criminal organization.” Keyword: Targeted

You may have to research further to figure out that Cancun is located within the state of Quintana Roo, and Cabo is in the state of Baja California Sur. But, I hope you don’t have to do any research to realize that a Mexican city within a state is no bigger or smaller than a city located within a state in America. Would you avoid going to Disney if you heard that the overall crime rate of Florida has increased?

If you don’t want to believe me, that’s fine. But checkout this website where you can compare any two cities in the world. Try to compare Cancun with Orlando or Las Vegas, the level of crime in both of those places is almost double the level of crime in Cancun. Or just look at the United States vs. Mexico – the ONLY crime rate that is higher in Mexico than the United States is corruption, and if you didn’t already know that then I’m sorry.

 

Leave a Reply

