Swinging Above the City

#SaturdayMorningFunFacts

 

The first place I ever went in Europe was Amsterdam. When I left for my trip there were so many things I wanted to see, to do, and to try. And when I got there, there was so much more than I even realized.

I was only in Amsterdam for three and a half days – it was enough for a first trip to one city in the Netherlands. Even though I knew from previous experiences on previous trips that I would meet people along the way who would help double my itinerary – you don’t really know until it happens.

It was a bartender from Ireland in a small pub behind our hotel who told us about the A’DAM tower. She told us which tram to get on and how to take the free ferry across the canal to the building. She did not tell us how cold it was going to be once we got to the top though and my shorts were not good enough to keep me warm.

The whole building is an experience, so even if you’re afraid of heights it’s worth checking out. The ground floor is a gift shop and photo center, this is where we took the fun photo above – in front of a green screen obviously.

The elevator ride up is another highlight of this building. The elevator has a glass ceiling, and the top of the building and the elevator shaft is lined with lights. It’s some kind of light show that I couldn’t even begin to explain and you have to see for yourself.

You get off on the top floor of the building where the bar is located. It’s a bar/observation deck with 360 degree views. The views are also interactive, there are screens located in front of the window at various intervals and you can kind of ‘click’ on the spot you’re checking out to get more information on it.

Up the stairs to the roof, you’re now 100 meters above Amsterdam. It’s a wind tunnel and you’re freezing, but the views are amazing. It’s actually the second tallest building in Amsterdam, so you’re not at the tallest point but compared to the average height you can see over pretty much every building around. Also, being across one of the bigger canals on the outskirts of the city you can actually see the entire city spread out in front of you.

It’s not a basic swing that you’re on, it’s a carnival ride. The employee straps you in and the ride lifts you up even higher before you start swinging over the edge of the building. I even felt that distinct belly drop I remember as a kid when I went on rides at fiesta.

It’s not the tallest point in the world, or Europe, or even Amsterdam. But it’s the highest swing you’ll find in Europe and that’s pretty cool if you’re not afraid of heights. I wouldn’t say I am but the ride wasn’t short and I did get a little worried that the ride might fall apart and send me into the freezing canal below me.

One thought on “Swinging Above the City

Leave a comment