Tequila Shots for Harambe

It has been almost a year since I was getting ready to work my first spring break in Cancun, and I am so excited that I am doing the same thing again for Spring Break 2017.

I know it is kind of insane that I spent five weeks in this beautiful place and there is still so much more that I want to do. I was actually so unprepared because I had no idea what to expect last year – literally, a foreign man over the phone told me he wanted to send me to Cancun, all expenses paid, and I agreed.

I got to check a couple things off my bucket list last year – kayaking, catamaran booze cruise, getting lost in the ‘not-safe’ part of downtown Cancun by myself – but this year I am going to make the most out of my time there and check off even more adventures.

So, for all my spring breakers, honeymooners, and fellow travel enthusiasts, here is the top five items on my Cancun bucket list; feel free to be inspired and to join in.

Chichen Itza

I know, this is one of the most basic sites in Cancun and how could I have missed out on it before? No idea, but I did and that is why it is at the top of my list this year. 

This will probably be the first excursion I do this spring break. Even though it is the most tame thing on my list, it’s one of those things that you have to say that you’ve done.

Snorkeling

Fun Fact about Me: I love marine life. Marine science was my minor in college and I loved it (aside from the fact that I am completely inept at math.)

I’ve snorkeled with sting rays in the Bahamas and now I want to snorkel with sea turtles in Mexico. Then I want to snorkel with manatees in Florida, and cage dive with sharks in South Africa. Read: if it has to do with being in the ocean surrounded by some crazy wildlife, I probably want to do it.

But, I have to start somewhere so this spring break I will be hopping on the ferry to Isla Mujeres to enjoy a day on one of the many natural reefs there.

Pink Pool Party

Obviously! I was so mad that I had to work during this party last year and after working for Pink the last four months there is no way I am going to miss it this year.

The party is at Mandala Beach Club, which is my favorite club on the strip. It’s during the day and the club offers both a pool and is located beachside. Plus, all the free Pink goodies they hand out – don’t miss it.

Cenotes

Apparently, I was extremely boring while I was in Mexico last year because this is another one of those, “I can’t believe you didn’t do this!” places on my list.

For those of you who are as ~lame~ as me, a cenote is basically a natural pit or hole in the ground filled with water where you can swim. Based on the location of the specific cenote (because there are tons around the Mayan Riviera) I could be able to tie this item into my next one, the ATV jungle tour.

ATV Jungle Tour

This is something that I wanted to do last year but never had the time to set up. This year, I am being sent on the jungle ATV tour for work purposes. Yes, my job is to ride an ATV into a jungle with two cute English guys. Best job ever?

Go Blue Tours offers this tour right on their website, which you can find here, or you can book it through whichever hotel you’re staying at in Cancun. This specific tour offers an ATV ride through the Mayan jungle and you end the day with a swim in the nearby cenote!

12832543_10156590483670464_2049174507360285824_n
Cancun Sunrise
2 thoughts on “Tequila Shots for Harambe

Leave a Reply

