2017

Thus far this year I have been uninspired to write. I have had no big plans for myself and have done nothing noteworthy. Drafts after drafts have been composed, but I have been keeping things private.

After getting a couple of reality checks this week I have decided to revisit an old draft, make some edits, and share away.

For me, 2016 was the year of adventure and 2017 was to be the year of self development. After all, I did promise my parents that I would be settled and not living off them by the time I turn 25.

The year was off to a great start: great career developments, solid friendships, and even a potential love interest.

My original draft did include this guy, but reality quickly set in and it just wasn’t going to work out. This is a trend for artists though I believe, because heartache leads to masterpiece?

Anyway, it took me two years to learn the invaluable lesson of independence and only two months of talking to this guy to forget it. I once again put my faith in someone other than myself, and once again got let down.

“For every orgasm you fake, he fakes a promise.” Not positive, but I’m pretty sure that quote is from Bill Clinton. And by the way, you do NOT need a guy to fulfill any dream you may have.

I started traveling on my own because I needed to prove to myself that I could survive on my own, and I did. I traveled across North America and saw so many things, met so many people, learned more deeply about myself than I could have imagined possible.

Keeping that in mind, I now know I can do it and plan to go much further. In the mean time I’m ready to build my career.

One of my first posts was all about “spring break-ing” for a living. Two months in Cancun sounds amazing right? Well, I’m taking that and actually turning it into a living. Starting in two weeks I will be a full time sales representative for Go Blue Tours.

I will be spending another three weeks in Cancun this spring and then finally getting in to the workforce. I’m equally parts pleased, excited and nervous. Could 2017 actually be a year of development for me? I am so ready for life.

Leave a Reply

