Home of the Fighting Fishermen

Homesickness is a rare phenomenon for me. I can probably count on one hand the number of times I have felt homesick in the past five years.
This weekend was one of those times where I would have done anything to be home with my family and friends and it made me stop and think. I realized how lucky I am to not only be able to travel and see amazing places, but to also have an amazing place to come home to.

I complain about it constantly and when I’m there I always want to be some place else. I know now that this is a reflection of my own personal habits more than the town itself, so here is a compilation of the things that I miss most about my hometown and the things that make me so lucky to be able to call it home.

The Beaches
Wingaersheek, Good Harbor, Half Moon, Pavilion, Niles, Magnolia. The list of beaches on this island goes on and on. I’ve been so spoiled my whole life that I can’t ever imagine settling down somewhere that doesn’t have a beach within walking distance.

The Shore Line
The sandy beaches are complimented by Gloucester’s rocky coastline. Without the rocks lining the coast back shore rides just wouldn’t be the same. Especially when a storm is rolling in and you can see the waves crashing off the rocks.

image

The Views
Whether you are sitting in a beach chair with your toes in the sand, driving down Atlantic Road, or sitting in bridge traffic, you have a beautiful view. You could be watching the sun set or rise, or it could just be any time of the day.
I have vivid memories of standing next to the railing on Stacey Boulevard, watching the sun shining off the harbor and feeling the ocean breeze brush across my skin. These are memories I will hold with me forever.

image

Community
I hate to love all the people in Gloucester. Some I have known since childhood, others I met later in life, some I have yet to meet but they know my parents so they know me.
“Oh your mom is a Cardone, you look just like her.”
There’s an awesome sense of community in Gloucester that I have not been able to find anywhere else. Probably because Gloucester is like a family that I never asked to be a part of.

Fiesta
Is it even possible to list the best things about Gloucester without mentioning Fiesta? The answer is no, especially not with it being right around the corner.
When you’re young it’s about the carnival rides and fried dough. Get a little older and it’s about dressing up and causing mayhem with your friends by the basketball game. At some point you realize how awesome it is to have a weekend on Pavilion Beach with your family, drinking beers and watching the traditions of our town unfold.

image
The greasy pole and seine boat races are unheard of in different places, yet we grow up idolizing the men and women who take part in it. This goes back to the sense of community that I love so much about Gloucester.

I’m not sure if writing this is making me more or less homesick but it’s reassuring to know I have a place to call home and that it will be there with open arms and salty air to welcome me back at any time.

My parachute page is full of more things that I love about Gloucester.

Leave a Reply

