Spring Break(ing)

Can you Spring Break for a living?

Yes, I just turned ‘Spring Break’ into a verb. And yes, you can get a pretty decent pay check out of it.

My next adventure: Five weeks in Cancun, Mexico courtesy of Student City.

I depart in 16 days and I could not be any more excited about it. My number one goal in life is to experience as many things as I can, and I can now cross spending 35 days on spring break off that bucket list.

Honestly, spending 35 days on spring break was not even on my bucket list until I randomly stumbled upon the job listing.  I know Cancun and the whole party scene is not everyone’s cup of tea, but for me it was an opportunity I could not miss out on.

Contrary to what my parents think, it is not the partying that drew me to this job. My first thought was that I would be able to escape the freezing New England weather, which I did not miss one bit while at school in South Carolina. My second thought was about the beach, and the snorkeling, and the kayaking that I would be able to do there. (And the awesome Instagram pictures I could take while doing it.)

I can’t lie though, after losing almost 30 pounds this past year those pool parties are calling my name. And what girl doesn’t like getting dressed up and going out? I’m starting to day dream at my desk.

Plus, now when I’m an old grandma I will have some pretty interesting stories to tell my grandkids about when they get to college. Or some horror stories that will completely change their mind about ever wanting to go to Cancun for spring break. (Not sure which one I’m hoping for yet.)

It is not the grown-up job that my parents were hoping I would get, the complete opposite of that actually, but they had to have known when I went to college 900 miles away that it would not be easy to get me to settle down.

Where do I see myself in five years? Settled down with a steady job and (hopefully) a boyfriend/fiancé/husband. Give me one year to travel and see things and do things, and then I promise I will get a real job.

Leave a Reply

